Home · Comparisons
4restaurants vs Square for Restaurants: which fits a small restaurant?
Square for Restaurants combines a card terminal, a kitchen screen and online ordering. 4restaurants.net covers reservations, recipes with food cost and stock, without card payments. This page compares the UK page of Square, consulted 2026-10-25.
Short answer
- Square for Restaurants lists a free plan and a Plus plan at £69 a month per location (UK page), plus payment processing fees.
- Square states offline payments for up to 24 hours with its hardware, on its UK page.
- 4restaurants.net publishes its prices in euro and has a table map, recipes with food cost and stock.
- 4restaurants.net takes no card payments and no online orders; Square states both.
Side by side
| Criterion | Square for Restaurants (UK) | 4restaurants.net |
|---|---|---|
| Prices | Free plan; Plus £69 a month per location, plus processing fees; VAT not stated | €1, €5, €10, €20 a month; 360-day free trial |
| Card payments | Handheld Square Terminal (stated by vendor) | Recorded by hand; no terminal |
| Offline payments | Up to 24 hours with Square hardware; some payment types excluded (stated by vendor) | No offline mode |
| Kitchen display | Square Kitchen Display System (stated by vendor) | Kitchen screen, refreshes every 5 seconds |
| Online ordering | Click and collect or delivery (stated by vendor) | Dine-in and takeaway orders only |
| Reservations and floor | Through reservation partners; table management on Plus; no floor map stated | Table map and online booking, switched on in venue settings |
| Recipes and food cost | Not stated | Recipes in grams, cost per portion, food cost % |
| Stock | Ingredient inventory through BevSpot and MarketMan integrations | Deducted when the order is fully paid |
| Guest email | Email campaigns through Square Marketing; SMS not mentioned | None |
Where Square for Restaurants is the better fit
- A venue that wants a card terminal, a kitchen screen and online ordering in one vendor (stated by the vendor).
- A venue that needs payments to keep working offline for up to 24 hours (stated by the vendor).
Where 4restaurants.net is the better fit
- A venue that wants reservations, recipes with food cost and stock in one account.
- A venue that wants euro prices with a 360-day free trial to start, and does not need a card terminal.
Sources consulted
Consulted 2026-10-25: squareup.com/gb/en/restaurants. The US page showed no restaurant pricing. Check the terms of your country on Square's site before deciding.